Jump to: Main navigation | Sub navigation | Content | Toolbar | Footer


ENCATC Press Release Nr. 7

2012 Cultural Policy Research Award awarded to Christiaan de Beukelaer



Christiaan de Beukelaer, 26 years old from Belgium, studying at the University of Leeds (UK), is the winner of the 9th Cultural Policy Research Award 2012 (CPRA). The Award will help the young researcher to carry out his research proposal and publish his findings. The name of the winner was unveiled during the 9th CPRA Ceremony held on the evening 12 September at Goldsmiths, University of London in the framework of the 20th ENCATC Annual Conference, “Networked Culture”. This high level Award Ceremony was attended by hundreds of academics, researchers, professionals from the cultural and educational sector, organizations, students, policy makers, artists and media from more than 35 countries to support excellence in cultural policy research.

Selected amongst 24 high-quality applications from 12 countries on the wider European continent, Christiaan de Beukelaer convinced the international jury panel with a research project which aims at “Developing Culture and Culturing Development: A critical analysis of the link between cultural industries and sustainable human development in the Global South”: “we found Christiaan de Beukelaer’s research very innovative. We value his capacity of breaking with conventions without overlooking the traditional research elements”, said the CPRA Jury President, Lluís Bonet (University of Barcelona, Spain).

The winner was extremely honoured and appreciative of the jury’s recognition: “I feel extremely honoured. This is such an important award in the cultural policy research field. I see this as a sign of recognition that exceeds my expectations and I look forward to contributing my research to the sector”, said Christiaan de Beukelaer.

Along side the Award winner, the five other shortlisted candidates in the running for the 10,000 EUR Award were: Francesca Cominelli (Italy), Deniz Ikiz (Turkey), Matina Magkou (Greece), Arne Saeys (Belgium), and Sigrid Van der Auwera (Belgium). Their research proposals covered topics as varied as cultural heritage, artistic mobility, cultural development and European cinema: “we were impressed by the very high quality and diversity of all the research proposals that were both submitted and selected, knowing how valuable research is to developing and building robust cultural policy in Europe”, said Katherine Watson, Director of the European Cultural Foundation.

Invited to explain ENCATC’s reasons for engagement in this unique project, Cristina Ortega Nuere, ENCATC President said, “ENCATC is involved in this project because we really believe that this gathering is a means to attract new talents and to bring together the next generation of promising cultural policy researchers.”

The Award worth 10,000 EUR financed by the Riksbankens Jubileumsfond for the best innovative research proposal in applied, comparative, cross-cultural research in Europe: “We have been happy to help building research competence in the cultural policy field over the years that we think has been a bit underdeveloped. Of course we realise it would be best to start with young researchers and to try to stimulate them to go into this field. A number of interesting projects have been formulated over the years and we think that this Award is a significant step in their emerging research careers”, said Mats Rolén, Senior Advisor for Riksbankens Jubileumsfond.

Launched by the European Cultural Foundation and the Swedish Riksbankens Jubileumsfond in 2004 to stimulate cultural policy research in Europe and to enable talented, young (under 35) cultural policy researchers to take a step from evaluative (descriptive) research to comparative applied research that can inform policy making and benefit practitioners active in the field, the CPRA is developed in partnership with ENCATC and reflects ENCATC’s commitment to contribute to a competitive European research field.

The CPRA and the Young Cultural Policy Researchers Forum are part of the CPRA Programme Package in support of young cultural policy Researchers. More information is available here.




To the overview